I don’t want to be anyone but me

I met someone the other day who I realized didn’t like me. In the past, I would have broken a sweat to charm the person into seeing the good, likeable qualities that I have in abundance. Now, frankly Scarlett I don’t give a…

The truth is I didn’t really take to this person either, so what’ the problem? Everyone is not going to love or like me, and I am certainly not going to love or like everybody I meet. The days of trying to please everyone and to be everything to everyone are over. No, today I will focus my efforts on pleasing and being all to people who are actually on my side.

It did get me wondering about this need to be liked. Fundamentally, I think it’s a human nature to want to be accepted and to belong, and in some ways, to be validated.

An event in my life made me realize that not everyone who I thought was on my team is. People often take pleasure in the discomfort of others and are quick to criticize without having all the pertinent facts. This is something I don’t understand and something I watch for in myself. It was a good life lesson. I look at people differently. Things aren’t always quite what they seem.

Life is short and getting shorter every day. It’s time to reach past any fears, insecurities, doubts, hindrances and become the person I was created to be.

I’ve reconnected with a dynamic college friend of mine. She is very outgoing and a naturally gifted public speaker and someone who I admire all around.

I started thinking about everything I wasn’t. I don’t make friends very easily. I’m not always outgoing, though a part of my nature is. I tend to be very reserved. I hate public speaking, but I am becoming more open to it.

That’s when it hit me. I AM fearfully and wonderfully made. I was made to me. I have gifts and talents that make me uniquely me. There is no reason to focus on what I am not. It’s more productive to focus on what I am and use those gifts and talents to become who I am supposed to me. My believe and faith in God are strong. I need to transfer that belief into accepting and loving and being comfortable with who He made me, realizing I am not a finished project, yet.

As the song goes, “I don’t want to be anyone but me.”

Leave a comment